Now that Georgia is reopening, teams of experts are calculating whether the rate at which people will sicken or die from the novel coronavirus will rise in the coming weeks.

Latest Atlanta coronavirus news: COVID-19 cases near 36K in Georgia

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is committed to providing our readers with the most comprehensive coverage of the deadly coronavirus. 

This blog will be updated throughout Thursday, May 14, with news and details of COVID-19 in Georgia.

» Complete coverage: Coronavirus

7:30 p.m.: Mark Niesse has the latest on a federal judge dismissing a lawsuit that attempted to delay Georgia’s July 9 primary election because of the coronavirus.

7 p.m.: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is keeping track of reported coronavirus deaths and cases across Georgia, as reported by the Department of Public Health. As of midday, Georgia has 1,544 COVID-19 deaths and 35,977 confirmed cases.

6:30 p.m.: The latest Georgia restaurant guidelines come with wave of new openings, and Ligaya Figueras has the details.

1 p.m.: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is keeping track of reported coronavirus deaths and cases across Georgia, as reported by the Department of Public Health. As of midday, Georgia has 1,527 COVID-19 deaths and 35,858 confirmed cases.

12:30 p.m.: After two months of altering its hours in response to COVID-19, Publix announced hours would be extended at its more than 1,200 stores starting this weekend. Stephanie Toone has the details.

11:30 a.m.: Georgia’s Department of Labor last week processed nearly a quarter-million unemployment claims, as the flow of coronavirus-triggered job cuts continued, Michael E. Kanell reports.

9:30 a.m.: Our Political Insider team has been told Caylee Noggle, the chief management officer of Gov. Brian Kemp’s office, will now serve as Dr. Kathleen Toomey’s chief of staff to run the operations side of the Department of Public Health.

6:30 a.m.: Gwinnett County’s early voting period will look a little different than others in recent memory, thanks to coronavirus. Amanda C. Coyne tells you just how different.

6 a.m.: With the loosening of Georgia’s stay-at-home rules, more workers are being called back to work. But, Ty Tagami reports, parents of young children cannot go if there is no place that will look after their children.

» Coronavirus in Georgia: stats in real time

WEDNESDAY’S TOP STORIES

DAILY CORONAVIRUS UPDATES

Wednesday, May 13

Tuesday, May 12

Monday, May 11

Sunday, May 10

Saturday, May 9

Friday, May 8

Thursday, May 7

Wednesday, May 6

Tuesday, May 5

Monday, May 4

Saturday, May 2

Friday, May 1

Thursday, April 30

Wednesday, April 29

Tuesday, April 28

Monday, April 27

Saturday, April 25

Friday, April 24

Thursday, April 23

Wednesday, April 22

Tuesday, April 21

Monday, April 20

Friday, April 17

Thursday, April 16

Wednesday, April 15

Tuesday, April 14

Monday, April 13

Sunday, April 12

Saturday, April 11

Friday, April 10

Thursday, April 9

Wednesday, April 8

Tuesday, April 7

Monday, April 6

Sunday, April 5

Saturday,  April 4

Friday, April 3

Thursday, April 2

Wednesday, April 1

Tuesday, March 31

Monday, March 30

Friday, March 27

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 25

Tuesday, March 24

Monday, March 23

Friday, March 20

Thursday, March 19

Wednesday, March 18

Tuesday, March 17

Monday, March 16

Sunday, March 15

Saturday, March 14

Friday, March 13

Thursday, March 12

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

With the largest team in the state, the AJC reports what’s really going on with your tax dollars and your elected officials. Subscribe today. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

Your subscription to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

X