CDC Disputes Claims That COVID-19 Is the Leading US Killer

Latest Atlanta coronavirus news: Deaths in Georgia rise to 432

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is committed to providing our readers with the most comprehensive coverage of the deadly coronavirus. 

This blog will be updated throughout Saturday, April 11, with news and details of COVID-19 in Georgia.

» Complete coverage: Coronavirus 

7 p.m.:  In the seven hours since its last report, the Georgia Department of Public Health confirmed an additional 102 cases of COVID-19 and four new deaths.  The state’s death toll now stands at 432, and there are 12,261 confirmed cases across Georgia, according to the latest data. Shaddi Abusaid also has the county breakdown.

Noon:  Public health officials confirmed another three coronavirus-related deaths on Saturday, bringing the total to 428, Shaddi Abusaid reports There were also 300 new cases of COVID-19 reported since Friday evening. The state’s total now stands at 12,159.

11:30 a.m.: Reports recently appeared on some websites that COVID-19, the disease caused by the coronavirus, is now the leading cause of death in the United States. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in Atlanta disputes that claim, however.

7:30 a.m.: The lockdown appears to be making a dent. Johnny Edwards takes a look at major COVID-19 developments over the past week.

6:30 a.m.: Gov. Brian Kemp is facing calls to suspend a little-known state law adopted nearly 70 years ago to combat the Ku Klux Klan to clear the way for more Georgians to wear protective masks to prevent the spread of the coronavirus. Greg Bluestein has the details.

» Coronavirus in Georgia: stats in real time

» This map tracks the coronavirus globally

OVERNIGHT

Several times a week, Albany’s elected leaders and health officials deliver sobering news updates to the residents of southwest Georgia, providing something most people across Georgia aren’t receiving from their public officials and hospitals: Consistent and complete information about COVID-19’s deadly grip. Carrie Teegardin and Brad Schrade tell you more.

» Which grocery stores are open on Easter?

FRIDAY’S TOP STORIES

DAILY CORONAVIRUS UPDATES

Friday, April 10

Thursday, April 9

Wednesday, April 8

Tuesday, April 7

MONDAY. April 6

Sunday, April 5

Saturday,  April 4

Friday, April 3

Thursday, April 2

Wednesday, April 1

Tuesday, March 31

Monday, March 30

Friday, March 27

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 25

Tuesday, March 24

Monday, March 23

Friday, March 20

Thursday, March 19

Wednesday, March 18

Tuesday, March 17

Monday, March 16

Sunday, March 15

Saturday, March 14

Friday, March 13

Thursday, March 12

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

With the largest team in the state, the AJC reports what’s really going on with your tax dollars and your elected officials. Subscribe today. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

Your subscription to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

X