FDA Clears First COVID-19 Saliva Test.

Latest Atlanta coronavirus news: 24 deaths since noon; cases pass 15K

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is committed to providing our readers with the most comprehensive coverage of the deadly coronavirus. 

This blog will be updated throughout Wednesday, April 15, with news and details of COVID-19 in Georgia.

» Complete coverage: Coronavirus 

7 p.m.: Since noon, the DPH added 273 new cases to Georgia’s count, bringing the state’s total to 15,260, Chelsea Prince and Zachary Hansen report. In addition, 24 deaths were recorded since noon, which brings Georgia’s toll to 576.Of those with COVID-19 in Georgia, 3,006 patients have been hospitalized at some point, which is about 19.7% of all cases.

12:15 p.m.: The State Election Board voted unanimously to allow Georgia voters to turn in their absentee ballots at drop boxes, an option that avoids human contact during the coronavirus pandemic. Mark Niesse has the details.

Noon: Twenty-eight more Georgians have died of COVID-19, the disease caused by the new virus, since the state last reported data Tuesday night, Chelsea Prince reports. The latest numbers from the Georgia Department of Public Health show 552 deaths and 14,987 confirmed cases.

9 a.m.: Those who qualify still need to call and make an appointment, Tyler Estep reports, but the DeKalb County Board of Health is opening COVID-19 testing services to a wider range of residents.

7 a.m.: These are unusual times for parents and students.  So, Vanessa McCray reports, Atlanta Public Schools is bringing back what has proved to be a popular format for answering questions about the district’s coronavirus response.

6:30 a.m.: Clayton County has extended its state of emergency through the middle of next month and set a date for staff to report to work. Leon Stafford has all the info you need.

6:30 a.m.: The moratorium on new multifamily housing developments in Roswell has been extended to June 10. Some City Council members say it’s an opportunity to consider new priorities in a “post COVID-19 world.” Adrianne Murchison tells you what that means.

» Coronavirus in Georgia: stats in real time

» This map tracks the coronavirus globally

OVERNIGHT

Reporting discrepancies reflect the out-of-date, incomplete and sometimes inaccurate data that guides Georgia’s official response to the coronavirus outbreak, which has killed at least 524 people and sickened more than 14,000 others.

TUESDAY’S TOP STORIES

Georgia now has 14,578 confirmed cases, 524 deaths

TSA agent who contracted the coronavirus has died

Absentee ballots will be delivered and counted even if there’s no postage on them

DAILY CORONAVIRUS UPDATES

Tuesday, April 14

Monday, April 13

Sunday, April 12

Saturday, April 11

Friday, April 10

Thursday, April 9

Wednesday, April 8

Tuesday, April 7

MONDAY. April 6

Sunday, April 5

Saturday,  April 4

Friday, April 3

Thursday, April 2

Wednesday, April 1

Tuesday, March 31

Monday, March 30

Friday, March 27

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 25

Tuesday, March 24

Monday, March 23

Friday, March 20

Thursday, March 19

Wednesday, March 18

Tuesday, March 17

Monday, March 16

Sunday, March 15

Saturday, March 14

Friday, March 13

Thursday, March 12

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

With the largest team in the state, the AJC reports what’s really going on with your tax dollars and your elected officials. Subscribe today. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

Your subscription to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

X