Now that Georgia is reopening, teams of experts are calculating whether the rate at which people will sicken or die from the novel coronavirus will rise in the coming weeks.

Latest Atlanta coronavirus news: Georgia’s COVID-19 deaths hit 1,400

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is committed to providing our readers with the most comprehensive coverage of the deadly coronavirus. 

This blog will be updated throughout Saturday, May 9, with news and details of COVID-19 in Georgia.

» Complete coverage: Coronavirus 

7:35 p.m.: J. Scott Trubey tells you how many businesses were preparing Saturday for what they hope will be a busy Sunday, as people venture out for the second weekend since Georgia’s shelter-in-place order ended.

7 p.m.: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is keeping track of coronavirus deaths and cases across Georgia as reported by the Department of Public Health. At midday, the state’s death toll is at 1,401. Confirmed cases in the state have risen to 32,568.

4:45 p.m.: After shuttering for weeks to stem the spread of COVID-19, the National Park Service announced tennesaw Mountain and recreation areas along the Chattahoochee River will reopen Monday, Shaddi Abusaid reports.

4 p.m.: Dolly Parton, Jon Bon Jovi, Audra McDonald and others will participate in “A Night of Covenant House Stars.” Music blogger Melissa Ruggieri has the details.

12:15 p.m.: Gov. Brian Kemp said Saturday that Georgia has its lowest number of hospitalized patients positive for the novel coronavirus since reporting began in early April. J. Scott Trubey has the details.

Noon: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is keeping track of coronavirus deaths and cases across Georgia as reported by the Department of Public Health. At midday, the state’s death toll is at 1,400. Confirmed cases in the state have risen to 32,497.

7 a.m.: Despite weeks of social distancing to contain the coronavirus, the outbreak continues to worsen in many parts of Georgia. Helena Oliviero brings you the week’s major updates.

6:30 a.m.: As dental offices reopen and families try to make up for skipped cleanings and routine procedures, they will likely be greeted by a dental staff in an office that looks far different from the days before COVID-19. Yamil Berard has the story.

» Coronavirus in Georgia: stats in real time

FRIDAY’S TOP STORIES

DAILY CORONAVIRUS UPDATES

Friday, May 8

Thursday, May 7

Wednesday, May 6

Tuesday, May 5

Monday, May 4

Saturday, May 2

Friday, May 1

Thursday, April 30

Wednesday, April 29

Tuesday, April 28

Monday, April 27

Saturday, April 25

Friday, April 24

Thursday, April 23

Wednesday, April 22

Tuesday, April 21

Monday, April 20

Friday, April 17

Thursday, April 16

Wednesday, April 15

Tuesday, April 14

Monday, April 13

Sunday, April 12

Saturday, April 11

Friday, April 10

Thursday, April 9

Wednesday, April 8

Tuesday, April 7

Monday, April 6

Sunday, April 5

Saturday,  April 4

Friday, April 3

Thursday, April 2

Wednesday, April 1

Tuesday, March 31

Monday, March 30

Friday, March 27

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 25

Tuesday, March 24

Monday, March 23

Friday, March 20

Thursday, March 19

Wednesday, March 18

Tuesday, March 17

Monday, March 16

Sunday, March 15

Saturday, March 14

Friday, March 13

Thursday, March 12

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

With the largest team in the state, the AJC reports what’s really going on with your tax dollars and your elected officials. Subscribe today. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

Your subscription to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

X