How Long Can , Asymptomatic COVID-19 Carriers , Infect Others?. As we learn more about COVID-19, the vast array of symptoms continues to puzzle health professionals. Some people experience mild symptoms, others experience severe symptoms and some people experience none at all. People who experience no symptoms are called "asymptomatic carriers.". There are some people who are truly infected, but they don’t get sick, Stephen Gluckman, via HuffPost. As of right now, it is not yet clear how many people

Latest Atlanta coronavirus news: Georgia’s COVID-19 cases pass 31.5K

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is committed to providing our readers with the most comprehensive coverage of the deadly coronavirus. 

This blog will be updated throughout Thursday, May 7, with news and details of COVID-19 in Georgia.

» Complete coverage: Coronavirus 

7 p.m.: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is keeping track of reported coronavirus deaths and cases across Georgia according to the Department of Public Health. The state now has 1,340 deaths from COVID-19 and 31,575 confirmed cases.

6:35 p.m.: Gov. Brian Kemp urges all Georgians to schedule an appointment for coronavirus screening regardless of whether they have symptoms, Greg Bluestein and Tamar Hallerman report.

4:35 p.m.: More than 1.6 million new Georgia jobless claims have been processed since mid-March, or more than 30% of the workforce. Michael E. Kanell has the story.

3 p.m.: Ariel Hart and Helena Oliviero report on how vast changes may be needed so children don’t spread COVID-19.

12:30 p.m.: AJC dining editor Ligaya Figueras provides an update on the Atlanta restaurant scene in the new accessAtlanta podcast

Noon: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is keeping track of reported coronavirus deaths and cases across Georgia according to the Department of Public Health. At midday, the state has 1,335 deaths from COVID-19 and 31,260 confirmed cases.

10:30 a.m.: Georgia Coalition 2 Save Lives wants to meet with Gov. Brian Kemp to discuss ways to mitigate the spread of COVID-19 and prevent a second wave of the disease that has killed more than 1,300 Georgians, Ernie Suggs reports.

10 a.m.: Those planning to beat the summer heat with a cool dip in the pool will need to take a chill pill; public pools will probably open later than usual this year — if they open at all. Our local reporters break down where counties stand now.

7:45 a.m.: Midtown mixed-used development Colony Square is investing $280,000 in new lighting technology to ensure the safety of workers and visitors, Raisa Habersham reports.

6:30 a.m.: In the rush to expand coronavirus testing across Georgia, a state-run partnership has lost more than two dozen patient samples and test results have been delayed for more than 4,000 people, an investigation by The Atlanta Journal-Constitution and Channel 2 Action News found.

» Coronavirus in Georgia: stats in real time

OVERNIGHT

Now that Georgia is reopening, teams of experts are calculating whether the rate at which people will sicken or die from the novel coronavirus will rise in the coming weeks, and whether we’ll need more hospital beds to care for them.

» Photos: Georgians offer Mother’s Day tributes from afar

» Is it safe to send flowers this Mother’s Day?

WEDNESDAY’S TOP STORIES

DAILY CORONAVIRUS UPDATES

Wednesday, May 6

Tuesday, May 5

Monday, May 4

Saturday, May 2

Friday, May 1

Thursday, April 30

Wednesday, April 29

Tuesday, April 28

Monday, April 27

Saturday, April 25

Friday, April 24

Thursday, April 23

Wednesday, April 22

Tuesday, April 21

Monday, April 20

Friday, April 17

Thursday, April 16

Wednesday, April 15

Tuesday, April 14

Monday, April 13

Sunday, April 12

Saturday, April 11

Friday, April 10

Thursday, April 9

Wednesday, April 8

Tuesday, April 7

Monday, April 6

Sunday, April 5

Saturday,  April 4

Friday, April 3

Thursday, April 2

Wednesday, April 1

Tuesday, March 31

Monday, March 30

Friday, March 27

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 25

Tuesday, March 24

Monday, March 23

Friday, March 20

Thursday, March 19

Wednesday, March 18

Tuesday, March 17

Monday, March 16

Sunday, March 15

Saturday, March 14

Friday, March 13

Thursday, March 12

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

With the largest team in the state, the AJC reports what’s really going on with your tax dollars and your elected officials. Subscribe today. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

Your subscription to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

X