Coronavirus Causes Damage to Organs Other Than the Lungs, Doctors Say. Doctors are finding significant damage in both the kidneys and hearts of patients who have contracted the coronavirus. I think it’s very possible that the virus attaches to the kidney cells and attacks them, Alan Kliger, Yale, via 'The Washington Post'. It does raise the very clear suspicion that at least a part of the acute kidney injury that we’re seeing is resulting from direct viral involvement of the kidney, Alan Kliger, Yale,

Latest Atlanta coronavirus news: COVID-19 cases near 35.5K in Georgia

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is committed to providing our readers with the most comprehensive coverage of the deadly coronavirus. 

This blog will be updated throughout Wednesday, May 13, with news and details of COVID-19 in Georgia.

» Complete coverage: Coronavirus

7:45 p.m.: After weeks of uncertainty about the safety of operating during a pandemic, many summer camp operators canceled, and Ty Tagami reports on whether it is too soon to say whether the new rules by Gov. Brian Kemp that take effect Thursday will change that.

7 p.m.: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is keeping track of reported coronavirus deaths and cases across Georgia, as reported by the Department of Public Health. As of midday, the state has 1,517 deaths and 35,427 confirmed cases. 

6:30 p.m.: A group of Democratic senators plan to introduce legislation that would require airlines to give refunds to customers during the coronavirus pandemic, regardless of whether passengers cancel their trips or airlines cancel flights. Kelly Yamanouchi has the details.

5:45 p.m.: Coronavirus cases are higher in Georgia counties where more African Americans live, even after stripping out factors like poverty, health insurance and population density, according to the Morehouse School of Medicine. Ernie Suggs has the story.

5:30 p.m.: Coronavirus-related state restrictions on public pools expire Thursday, Amanda C. Coyne reports, but metro Atlanta counties and cities are not rushing to open the gates to their aquatic centers.

2:45 p.m.: Atlanta rapper Ludacris and music producer Mike Will Made-It partnered with a local sewing company to distribute masks to MARTA employees, Raisa Habersham reports.

2 p.m.: Looking for a coronavirus testing site? The AJC has compiled locations in one file that will be updated regularly.

1 p.m.:  The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is keeping track of reported coronavirus deaths and cases across Georgia, as reported by the Department of Public Health. As of midday, the state has 1,505 deaths and 35,332 confirmed cases. 

1 p.m.: James Salzer talks to an economist and UGA professor who says the state could burn through half of its $2.7 billion reserves the next few months as the coronavirus pandemic recession craters tax collections.

12:15 p.m.: The Fulton County Board of Health has opened two COVID-19 testing centers in Atlanta. Raisa Habersham has the details of where and when they’re open.

Noon: Fulton County’s tentative plan of how to spend its $104 million in federal emergency COVID-19 funds includes everything from tens of millions on a jail isolation unit to half a million to feed children. Ben Brasch has the story.

8:30 a.m.: Voting while social distancing starts Monday with the first day of in-person early voting for Georgia’s primary. Mark Niesse has the details.

8 a.m.: Even within the SEC, the spectrum of opinion on if and when college football will be played this fall is vast. But, as Chip Towers reports, Georgia is ‘laser focused’ on starting voluntary football workouts on campus.

7:30 a.m.:  Atlanta Public Schools previously announced it would delay graduation ceremonies until late July, or possibly even later, in an attempt to safely hold in-person events amid the coronavirus pandemic. Vanessa McCray has the details.

6 a.m.: DeKalb County plans to spend $200,000 on an ad campaign encouraging folks to stay safe during the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. Tyler Estep tells you which Atlanta rapper and activist they’ve enlisted to spread the word.

» Coronavirus in Georgia: stats in real time

TUESDAY EVENING

TUESDAY’S TOP STORIES

DAILY CORONAVIRUS UPDATES

Tuesday, May 12

Monday, May 11

Sunday, May 10

Saturday, May 9

Friday, May 8

Thursday, May 7

Wednesday, May 6

Tuesday, May 5

Monday, May 4

Saturday, May 2

Friday, May 1

Thursday, April 30

Wednesday, April 29

Tuesday, April 28

Monday, April 27

Saturday, April 25

Friday, April 24

Thursday, April 23

Wednesday, April 22

Tuesday, April 21

Monday, April 20

Friday, April 17

Thursday, April 16

Wednesday, April 15

Tuesday, April 14

Monday, April 13

Sunday, April 12

Saturday, April 11

Friday, April 10

Thursday, April 9

Wednesday, April 8

Tuesday, April 7

Monday, April 6

Sunday, April 5

Saturday,  April 4

Friday, April 3

Thursday, April 2

Wednesday, April 1

Tuesday, March 31

Monday, March 30

Friday, March 27

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 25

Tuesday, March 24

Monday, March 23

Friday, March 20

Thursday, March 19

Wednesday, March 18

Tuesday, March 17

Monday, March 16

Sunday, March 15

Saturday, March 14

Friday, March 13

Thursday, March 12

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

With the largest team in the state, the AJC reports what’s really going on with your tax dollars and your elected officials. Subscribe today. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

Your subscription to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

X