Gov. Brian Kemp defended his handling of Georgia’s coronavirus outbreak on Monday, lashing out at the news media and others who questioned his decision to reopen segments of the state’s economy.

Latest Atlanta coronavirus news: 44 COVID-19 deaths since noon 

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is committed to providing our readers with the most comprehensive coverage of the deadly coronavirus. 

This blog will be updated throughout Wednesday, April 29, with news and details of COVID-19 in Georgia.

» Complete coverage: Coronavirus 

7 p.m.:  The Department of Public Health has recorded 44 coronavirus deaths across the state since 11:30 a.m., bringing Georgia’s toll to 1,095, Chelsea Prince and Zachary Hansen report In addition, the DPH added 360 confirmed cases of COVID-19 to the state’s count, bringing the total number of cases to 25,634.

6:15 p.m.: Los Angeles-based CORE Response and the Arthur M. Blank Family Foundation on Thursday plan to open a coronavirus testing site at Mercedes-Benz Stadium, J. Scott Trubey reports.

5:30 p.m.: Nearly 400 workers in Georgia’s prized poultry industry have tested positive for the disease caused by the coronavirus, and one has died from his illness, according to Georgia Department of Public Health statistics obtained by The Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

Noon:  Known coronavirus cases in Georgia surpassed 25,000 on Wednesday, Chelsea Prince reports The latest data from the Georgia Department of Public Health shows at least 25,274 people have been infected and 1,052 have died of the novel virus since the outbreak began.

10 a.m.: Cobb County and Marietta high school seniors will have to wait a little longer to celebrate one of the most important milestones in their lives, Kristal Dixon reports, as both school systems postpone graduation ceremonies.

7:30 a.m.: Greg Bluestein reports that Gov. Brian Kemp is expected to decide today whether to extend a shelter in place order that’s set to expire Thursday night or ease the mandate as he continues to rollback coronavirus restrictions.

6:30 a.m.: On Monday, Georgia passed 1,000 deaths.Or maybe it didn’t. Within hours, the state Department of Public Health said on its website the death toll was actually 995. Or maybe it was 982, based on a county-by-county count DPH also published. Willoughby Mariano explains how the differences are confusing people.

» Coronavirus in Georgia: stats in real time

TUESDAY’S TOP STORIES

» PHOTOS: Metro Atlanta restaurants reopen

» This map tracks the coronavirus globally

DAILY CORONAVIRUS UPDATES

Tuesday, April 28

Monday, April 27

Saturday, April 25

Friday, April 24

Thursday, April 23

Wednesday, April 22

Tuesday, April 21

Monday, April 20

Friday, April 17

Thursday, April 16

Wednesday, April 15

Tuesday, April 14

Monday, April 13

Sunday, April 12

Saturday, April 11

Friday, April 10

Thursday, April 9

Wednesday, April 8

Tuesday, April 7

Monday, April 6

Sunday, April 5

Saturday,  April 4

Friday, April 3

Thursday, April 2

Wednesday, April 1

Tuesday, March 31

Monday, March 30

Friday, March 27

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 25

Tuesday, March 24

Monday, March 23

Friday, March 20

Thursday, March 19

Wednesday, March 18

Tuesday, March 17

Monday, March 16

Sunday, March 15

Saturday, March 14

Friday, March 13

Thursday, March 12

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

With the largest team in the state, the AJC reports what’s really going on with your tax dollars and your elected officials. Subscribe today. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

Your subscription to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

X