Coronavirus Causes Damage to Organs Other Than the Lungs, Doctors Say. Doctors are finding significant damage in both the kidneys and hearts of patients who have contracted the coronavirus. I think it’s very possible that the virus attaches to the kidney cells and attacks them, Alan Kliger, Yale, via 'The Washington Post'. It does raise the very clear suspicion that at least a part of the acute kidney injury that we’re seeing is resulting from direct viral involvement of the kidney, Alan Kliger, Yale,

Latest Atlanta coronavirus news: Death toll may hit 1,000 this weekend

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is committed to providing our readers with the most comprehensive coverage of the deadly coronavirus. 

This blog will be updated throughout Friday, April 24, with news and details of COVID-19 in Georgia.

» Complete coverage: Coronavirus 

7 p.m.: Since noon, the Georgia Department of Public Health announced that seven more people with COVID-19 died across the state, bringing Georgia’s toll to 899. Chelsea Prince and Zachary Hansen report that  i n the past week, 231 Georgians have died from COVID-19, which is more than a quarter of all coronavirus-related deaths Georgia has suffered. In addition, the DPH confirmed 344 cases since noon, which brings the state’s total to 22,491.

6 p.m.: Some restaurants that had announced plans to open next week reversed their decision, including business partners Mychel “Snoop” Dillard and rapper 2 Chainz who own Escobar Restaurant and Tapas Lounge in Castleberry Hill. Food editor Ligaya Figueras has the story.

Noon: An additional 11 deaths have been reported by the Georgia Department of Public Health since Thursday, bringing the state’s toll to 892. Chelsea Prince reports that, as of Friday, officials have confirmed 22,147 cases of COVID-19.

10:45 a.m.: Atlanta Public Schools Superintendent Meria Carstarphen urged students to stay home, even as some hair salons, barbershops and other Georgia businesses reopen, Vanessa McCray reports.

9 a.m.: They needed a trim, and couldn’t wait any longer. For the the first time in weeks, some Metro Atlanta hair salons and barbershops re-opened Friday. And the lines started early, Alexis Stevens reports.

8:45 a.m.: Area businesses and hospitals say they are wary of reopening Monday. Kristal Dixon talked to Marietta Square restaurants, and Yamil Berard reports on rural hospitals, which are strapped for cash.

6 a.m.: Lilburn’s commercial core is a microcosm of how the coronavirus is pummeling Main Streets around the nation, threatening to flatten businesses and reverse years of downtown revitalization efforts. Matt Kempner tells their story.

» Coronavirus in Georgia: stats in real time

» This map tracks the coronavirus globally

OVERNIGHT

» People Helping People: an AJC special section on ways to help and resources for those who need assistance

THURSDAY’S TOP STORIES

DAILY CORONAVIRUS UPDATES

Thursday, April 23

Wednesday, April 22

Tuesday, April 21

Monday, April 20

Friday, April 17

Thursday, April 16

Wednesday, April 15

Tuesday, April 14

Monday, April 13

Sunday, April 12

Saturday, April 11

Friday, April 10

Thursday, April 9

Wednesday, April 8

Tuesday, April 7

Monday, April 6

Sunday, April 5

Saturday,  April 4

Friday, April 3

Thursday, April 2

Wednesday, April 1

Tuesday, March 31

Monday, March 30

Friday, March 27

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 25

Tuesday, March 24

Monday, March 23

Friday, March 20

Thursday, March 19

Wednesday, March 18

Tuesday, March 17

Monday, March 16

Sunday, March 15

Saturday, March 14

Friday, March 13

Thursday, March 12

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

With the largest team in the state, the AJC reports what’s really going on with your tax dollars and your elected officials. Subscribe today. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

Your subscription to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

X