7 Signs You Need a New Face Mask

Latest Atlanta coronavirus news: Georgia’s COVID-19 deaths pass 1,300

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is committed to providing our readers with the most comprehensive coverage of the deadly coronavirus. 

This blog will be updated throughout Wednesday, May 6, with news and details of COVID-19 in Georgia.

» Complete coverage: Coronavirus 

7 p.m.: The AJC is keeping track of reported coronavirus deaths and cases across Georgia as reported by the Department of Public Health. As of 7 p.m., there are 1,317 deaths and 30,737 confirmed cases.

5 p.m.: Cobb County is planning to reopen all public parks on Monday, Meris Lutz reports, after they were closed because of the pandemic.

» Photos: T.I. and Killer Mike deliver hope and happiness

4 p.m.: The Hawks will not open their practice facility Friday, according to general manager Travis Schlenk, but beat writer Sarah K. Spencer reports they are looking at next week as a potential timetable.

4 p.m.: Several Atlanta United players participated in the first voluntary workouts allowed by MLS at the team’s training facility Wednesday. Beat writer Doug Roberson has the details.

3:45 p.m.: The Indigo Girls share with Melissa Ruggieri how they’ve been spending their time, what they’re listening to and how much they miss playing for a live audience.

Noon: The AJC is keeping track of reported coronavirus deaths and cases across Georgia as reported by the Department of Public Health. As of noon, there are 1,305 deaths and 30,562 confirmed cases.

10:45 a.m.: It’s berry season, and several farms within a couple of hour’s drive of metro Atlanta are opening their fields for picking, Yvonne Zusel reports. Call ahead to verify opening days, times and specific social distancing practices.

10:45 a.m.: “Nashville hot” chicken restaurant Hattie B’s will reopen today, Raisa Habersham reports. Read how the restaurant prepared after a worker tested positive for the coronavirus.

7:30 a.m.: Gwinnett County’s fairgrounds will be an early voting location where it will be easier to spread voters 6 feet apart. But, Arielle Kass reports, three typical early voting locations won’t open for the June 9 election.

6:30 a.m.: A new coronavirus hotspot has emerged in northeast Georgia, stirring fears the region could see a devastating toll similar to southwest Georgia's. Alan Judd has the story.

6:15 a.m.: The leaders of Georgia’s colleges and universities are talking with campus administrators to determine what should they do as the coronavirus pandemic continues. and Eric Stirgus fills you in on the discussion.

» Coronavirus in Georgia: stats in real time

TUESDAY’S TOP STORIES

» Photos: Georgians offer Mother’s Day tributes from afar

» Is it safe to send flowers this Mother’s Day?

DAILY CORONAVIRUS UPDATES

Tuesday, May 5

Monday, May 4

Saturday, May 2

Friday, May 1

Thursday, April 30

Wednesday, April 29

Tuesday, April 28

Monday, April 27

Saturday, April 25

Friday, April 24

Thursday, April 23

Wednesday, April 22

Tuesday, April 21

Monday, April 20

Friday, April 17

Thursday, April 16

Wednesday, April 15

Tuesday, April 14

Monday, April 13

Sunday, April 12

Saturday, April 11

Friday, April 10

Thursday, April 9

Wednesday, April 8

Tuesday, April 7

Monday, April 6

Sunday, April 5

Saturday,  April 4

Friday, April 3

Thursday, April 2

Wednesday, April 1

Tuesday, March 31

Monday, March 30

Friday, March 27

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 25

Tuesday, March 24

Monday, March 23

Friday, March 20

Thursday, March 19

Wednesday, March 18

Tuesday, March 17

Monday, March 16

Sunday, March 15

Saturday, March 14

Friday, March 13

Thursday, March 12

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

With the largest team in the state, the AJC reports what’s really going on with your tax dollars and your elected officials. Subscribe today. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

Your subscription to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

X