Gov. Brian Kemp took the first step Monday to reopen a Georgia economy battered by social restrictions to contain the coronavirus, even as public health experts warned he was all but inviting a new wave of infections.

Latest Atlanta coronavirus news: Fears lead Georgians to avoid ER, doctors' office

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is committed to providing our readers with the most comprehensive coverage of the deadly coronavirus. 

This blog will be updated throughout Monday, May 4, with news and details of COVID-19 in Georgia.

» Complete coverage: Coronavirus 

7 p.m.: Updated numbers from the Georgia Department of Public Health show the death toll has reached 1,243 and there are 29,437 confirmed cases as of Monday evening.

12:15 p.m.: Gwinnett, Newton and Rockdale counties are pilot testing a coronavirus contact tracing app. Amanda C. Coyne has the details.

noon: Since 7 p.m. Sunday, 1,204 deaths have been confirmed by the Department of Public Health. The DPH said confirmed cases have climbed to 29,103.

noon: Chick-fil-A will reopen doors for carryout only at some locations, Henri Hollis reported.

11:20 a.m.: Bill Rankin reported the coronavirus pandemic has caused Georgia’s statewide judicial emergency to be extended to June 12.

10:30 a.m.: Lenox Square, Phipps Plaza, The Mall of Georgia, Sugarloaf Mills and Town Center at Cobb are among the malls owner Simon Property Group said will reopen today. Tucker’s Northlake Mall also plans to reopen today. J.D. Capelouto has the details.

7:45 a.m.: Christian Boone has the details on how the death of Robin Grubbs, an employee of the United States Penitentiary in Atlanta, has raised questions about conditions inside the penitentiary amid the coronavirus pandemic.

7:45 a.m.: Leon Stafford reported Henry County government staffers began returning to work Monday in a staggered manner as temperatures were taken at certain checkpoints. Staffers entered into buildings and offices limited to no more than one person at a time.

7 a.m.: Raisa Habersham reported College Hunks Hauling Junk & Moving is offering free services to domestic violence victims who need help moving into a safe place to escape abusive partners.

6:30 a.m.: Atlanta Public Schools’ food distribution sites are now giving out books, Vanessa McCray reported.

6 a.m.: Although Georgia’s economy has reopened with the lifting of the shelter-in-place order, normalcy is still far away, Michael E. Kanell reported.

5 a.m.: Sick Georgians are avoiding going to the ER and doctors’ offices due to COVID-19 fears. Ariel Hart and Helena Oliviero have the details.

» PHOTOS: Drive-in service at New Beginning Full Gospel Baptist Church

OVER THE WEEKEND

» Coronavirus in Georgia: COVID-19 Dashboard

WEEKEND TOP STORIES

DAILY CORONAVIRUS UPDATES

Saturday, May 2

Friday, May 1

Thursday, April 30

Wednesday, April 29

Tuesday, April 28

Monday, April 27

Saturday, April 25

Friday, April 24

Thursday, April 23

Wednesday, April 22

Tuesday, April 21

Monday, April 20

Friday, April 17

Thursday, April 16

Wednesday, April 15

Tuesday, April 14

Monday, April 13

Sunday, April 12

Saturday, April 11

Friday, April 10

Thursday, April 9

Wednesday, April 8

Tuesday, April 7

Monday, April 6

Sunday, April 5

Saturday,  April 4

Friday, April 3

Thursday, April 2

Wednesday, April 1

Tuesday, March 31

Monday, March 30

Friday, March 27

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 25

Tuesday, March 24

Monday, March 23

Friday, March 20

Thursday, March 19

Wednesday, March 18

Tuesday, March 17

Monday, March 16

Sunday, March 15

Saturday, March 14

Friday, March 13

Thursday, March 12

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

With the largest team in the state, the AJC reports what’s really going on with your tax dollars and your elected officials. Subscribe today. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

Your subscription to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

X