Kemp will have to weigh conflicting analyses as he plans Georgia’s next steps to revive an economy wrecked by weeks of limited business activity.

Latest Atlanta coronavirus news: 32 COVID-19 deaths since noon

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is committed to providing our readers with the most comprehensive coverage of the deadly coronavirus. 

This blog will be updated throughout Thursday, April 30, with news and details of COVID-19 in Georgia.

» Complete coverage: Coronavirus 

7 p.m.:  State officials announced 32 additional coronavirus deaths, Chelsea Prince and Zachary Hansen report The Georgia Department of Public Health has recorded 1,132 deaths from COVID-19, including 37 in the past 24 hours. The DPH also added 227 confirmed cases, raising the number of cases to 26,260.

2:30 p.m.: Gov. Brian Kemp will lift a statewide shelter-in-place order for most of Georgia’ starting Friday as he continues to roll back coronavirus restrictions. Greg Bluestein brings you this breaking news.

12:15 p.m.: The number of Georgia voters requesting absentee ballots crossed 1 million Thursday, Mark Niesse reports. That’s a tremendous increase in people voting from home amid challenges to make polling places safe.

12:15 p.m.: A Georgia couple was hit with a $2,800 fine for going to the beach on Tybee Island this week in violation of statewide shelter-in-place orders that Gov. Brian Kemp appears poised to let expire Thursday night. ArLuther Lee has the story.

Noon:  The latest data from the Georgia Department of Public Health shows 26,033 verified infections of the coronavirus, an increase of more than 750 cases in the past 24 hours, Chelsea Prince reports. At least 1,107 Georgians have died of COVID-19, the disease caused by the new virus, according to the health department.

10:30 a.m.: David Wickert reports on an obscure provision of Gov. Brian Kemp’s order to reopen: Teenagers and others will no longer have to take a driving test to get their license.

9:45 a.m.: A new national survey finds school engagement is surprisingly high, Maureen Downey reports, despite parent concerns about where we go from here and how their kids will fare once schools resume.

6:30 a.m.: The Democratic race to challenge U.S. Sen. David Perdue has transformed into a measure of how Republicans are handling the coronavirus crisis, with each of the top three contenders trying to outdo each other to sharply criticize the government’s response. Greg Bluestein has the story this morning.

6:30 a.m.: With their season delayed indefinitely by the coronavirus crisis, the Braves have set new policies regarding ticket refunds, Tim Tucker reports.

WEDNESDAY’S TOP STORIES

» Coronavirus in Georgia: stats in real time

» PHOTOS: Metro Atlanta restaurants reopen

DAILY CORONAVIRUS UPDATES

Wednesday, April 29

Tuesday, April 28

Monday, April 27

Saturday, April 25

Friday, April 24

Thursday, April 23

Wednesday, April 22

Tuesday, April 21

Monday, April 20

Friday, April 17

Thursday, April 16

Wednesday, April 15

Tuesday, April 14

Monday, April 13

Sunday, April 12

Saturday, April 11

Friday, April 10

Thursday, April 9

Wednesday, April 8

Tuesday, April 7

Monday, April 6

Sunday, April 5

Saturday,  April 4

Friday, April 3

Thursday, April 2

Wednesday, April 1

Tuesday, March 31

Monday, March 30

Friday, March 27

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 25

Tuesday, March 24

Monday, March 23

Friday, March 20

Thursday, March 19

Wednesday, March 18

Tuesday, March 17

Monday, March 16

Sunday, March 15

Saturday, March 14

Friday, March 13

Thursday, March 12

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

With the largest team in the state, the AJC reports what’s really going on with your tax dollars and your elected officials. Subscribe today. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

Your subscription to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

X