Georgia officials are preparing for an increase in Memorial Day travel that will test the state’s coronavirus response strategy.

Latest Atlanta coronavirus news: COVID-19 cases in Georgia pass 43K over Memorial Day weekend

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is committed to providing our readers with the most comprehensive coverage of the deadly coronavirus. 

This blog will be updated throughout Tuesday, May 26, with news and details of COVID-19 in Georgia.

» Complete coverage: Coronavirus

7 p.m.: The AJC is keeping track of reported coronavirus deaths and cases across Georgia, as reported by the Department of Public Health. Tuesday evening, there are at least 1,895 deaths from COVID-19 and 43,983 confirmed cases in the state.

2 p.m.: Raisa Habersham reports Elizabeth Baptist Church on Cascade Road is offering free COVID-19 testing in June. Free food will be provided.

2 p.m.: Old Fourth Ward restaurants and bars have signed a pledge to follow 64 safety guidelines when they reopen. Yvonne Zusel has the story.

1:30 p.m.: David Wickert reports Xpress bus service plans to restore about 5 percent of its service beginning June 1. It will answer questions during an online public chat with Chief Transit Officer Gail Franklin at noon Wednesday.

1 p.m.: According to the Department of Public Health, as of Tuesday afternoon, there are at least 1,871 deaths from COVID-19 and 43,730 confirmed cases in the state.

1 p.m.: James Salzer reports that Georgia senators have raised the possibility that staffers be required to work the same number of hours for less pay rather than staffers being furloughed to meet mandated budget cuts.

1 p.m.Adrianne Murchison reports on North Fulton pools beginning to reopen after Milton City Pool reopened over the weekend with state social distancing guidelines in place.

noon: The Trap Music Museum will reopen June 5 with safety measures in place. Melissa Ruggieri has the story.

11:15 a.m.Kristal Dixon reports on Six Flag’s new “extensive” safety protocols meant to protect guests and employees from possible exposure to the novel coronavirus, including at Six Flags Over Georgia and Cobb County’s White Water.

11 a.m. Bo Emerson reports the Community Foundation for Greater Atlanta will provide $580,000 in grants to help metro area arts groups survive the COVID-19 crisis.

11 a.m.: Meet the man many have been watching at Gov. Brian Kemp’s COVID-19 press conferences, sign language interpreter David Cowan. Keri Janton and Ryon Horne have the story.

10 a.m.Wendell Brock has the details on how traditional eating will continue at Briarcliff Road’s Feedel Bistro, an Ethiopian and Eritrean eatery, with safety put first.

8 a.m.: Leon Stafford reports Clayton County plans to hold virtual meetings to discuss the upcoming SPLOST referendum at 1 p.m. Wednesday. Another meeting will follow at 11 a.m June 2. 

7 a.m: Google.org gave 133 metro Atlanta teachers $1,000 each in grant money to help students learn from home. Vanessa McCray has the details.

5 a.m.: Reflecting on the prospect of possibly never wearing high heels again amid the coronavirus pandemic, Gracie Bonds Staples reports on an Atlanta-shot documentary all about the shoe from independent filmmaker Adelin Gasana.

OVERNIGHT

The AJC is keeping track of reported coronavirus deaths and cases across Georgia, as reported by the Department of Public Health. Monday evening, there are at least 1,848 deaths from COVID-19 and 43,400 confirmed cases in the state.

» PHOTOS: Memorial Day weekend tradition on hold and remembered

OVER MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND

MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND’S TOP STORIES

» Coronavirus in Georgia: stats in real time

» Tips to keep you safer as Georgia reopens during pandemic

DAILY CORONAVIRUS UPDATES

Friday, May 22

Thursday, May 21

Wednesday, May 20

Tuesday, May 19

Monday, May 18

Saturday, May 16

Friday, May 15

Thursday, May 14

Wednesday, May 13

Tuesday, May 12

Monday, May 11

Sunday, May 10

Saturday, May 9

Friday, May 8

Thursday, May 7

Wednesday, May 6

Tuesday, May 5

Monday, May 4

Saturday, May 2

Friday, May 1

Thursday, April 30

Wednesday, April 29

Tuesday, April 28

Monday, April 27

Saturday, April 25

Friday, April 24

Thursday, April 23

Wednesday, April 22

Tuesday, April 21

Monday, April 20

Friday, April 17

Thursday, April 16

Wednesday, April 15

Tuesday, April 14

Monday, April 13

Sunday, April 12

Saturday, April 11

Friday, April 10

Thursday, April 9

Wednesday, April 8

Tuesday, April 7

Monday, April 6

Sunday, April 5

Saturday, April 4

Friday, April 3

Thursday, April 2

Wednesday, April 1

Tuesday, March 31

Monday, March 30

Friday, March 27

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 25

Tuesday, March 24

Monday, March 23

Friday, March 20

Thursday, March 19

Wednesday, March 18

Tuesday, March 17

Monday, March 16

Sunday, March 15

Saturday, March 14

Friday, March 13

Thursday, March 12

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

With the largest team in the state, the AJC reports what’s really going on with your tax dollars and your elected officials. Subscribe today. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

Your subscription to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

X