68% of Americans Want a COVID-19 Vaccine Before Returning to Normal Life

Latest Atlanta coronavirus news: Georgia COVID-19 deaths near 1,700

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is committed to providing our readers with the most comprehensive coverage of the deadly coronavirus. 

This blog will be updated throughout Tuesday, May 19, with news and details of COVID-19 in Georgia.

» Complete coverage: Coronavirus

7 p.m.: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is keeping track of reported coronavirus deaths and cases across Georgia, as reported by the Department of Public Health. At midday, there are 1,675 deaths from COVID-19 and 38,855 confirmed cases.

6 p.m.: Fulton County early voting precincts will open two hours earlier, and physical changes are coming to some polling places, Ben Brasch reports, both in hopes of reducing the spread of COVID-19.

5:30 p.m.: Henri Hollis has what many of you will think is the best news of the day: Atlanta Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms extended an administrative order that allows restaurants to sell unopened wine and malt beverages for off-premise consumption through June 30. 

» Coronavirus in Georgia: stats in real time

4:30 p.m.: An older Atlanta couple worried the coronavirus would kill the half-century-old Cato Shoe Repair shop. Then, Matt Kempner reports, strangers and customers stepped in.

3 p.m.: If you’re venturing back out into the world, there are precautions you can take to lessen your chances of contracting the coronavirus. Nancy Clanton has tips to make your trip out safer.

2 p.m.: For the first time in its 74-year history, hair maven Bronner Bros. canceled its beauty and hair show and is instead hosting virtual events, Raisa Habersham reports.

2 p.m.: Georgia tourism officials expect huge crowds this weekend after hundreds swarmed the beaches after the first week of being fully reopened without restrictions. ArLuther Lee has the story.

1:45 p.m.: Two concerts at Infinite Energy Arena —James Taylor with Jackson Browne and Reba McEntire — have rescheduled dates, and Melissa Ruggieri has the details.

1:15 p.m.: Current statewide hospitalizations for COVID-19 dropped by about a third in the past two weeks, according to an AJC analysis of data published by the Georgia Emergency Management & Homeland Security Agency. Willoughby Mariano has the full story.

1 p.m.: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is keeping track of reported coronavirus deaths and cases across Georgia, as reported by the Department of Public Health. At midday, there are 1,664 deaths from COVID-19 and 38,721 confirmed cases.

Noon: Kids thank frontline health care workers through art. Check out the gallery of their pictures.

10 a.m.: One of Atlanta’s premiere restaurants is reopening for on-premise dining, Ligaya Figueras reports.

9:30 a.m.: If you’re wearing a reusable mask, Kiersten Willis tells you how experts say you should be cleaning it.

7 a.m.: Adrianne Murchison details a one-stop place for people to know what Alpharetta businesses are now open after being shutdown by the pandemic.

7 a.m.: The first virtual Atlanta graduation celebration attracts hundreds of online viewers, well wishes

MONDAY’S TOP STORIES

DAILY CORONAVIRUS UPDATES

Monday, May 18

Saturday, May 16

Friday, May 15

Thursday, May 14

Wednesday, May 13

Tuesday, May 12

Monday, May 11

Sunday, May 10

Saturday, May 9

Friday, May 8

Thursday, May 7

Wednesday, May 6

Tuesday, May 5

Monday, May 4

Saturday, May 2

Friday, May 1

Thursday, April 30

Wednesday, April 29

Tuesday, April 28

Monday, April 27

Saturday, April 25

Friday, April 24

Thursday, April 23

Wednesday, April 22

Tuesday, April 21

Monday, April 20

Friday, April 17

Thursday, April 16

Wednesday, April 15

Tuesday, April 14

Monday, April 13

Sunday, April 12

Saturday, April 11

Friday, April 10

Thursday, April 9

Wednesday, April 8

Tuesday, April 7

Monday, April 6

Sunday, April 5

Saturday,  April 4

Friday, April 3

Thursday, April 2

Wednesday, April 1

Tuesday, March 31

Monday, March 30

Friday, March 27

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 25

Tuesday, March 24

Monday, March 23

Friday, March 20

Thursday, March 19

Wednesday, March 18

Tuesday, March 17

Monday, March 16

Sunday, March 15

Saturday, March 14

Friday, March 13

Thursday, March 12

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

X