We take a look at what needs to happen to get ahead of COVID-19.

Latest Atlanta coronavirus news: COVID-19 cases in Georgia pass 41K; deaths pass 1,800

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is committed to providing our readers with the most comprehensive coverage of the deadly coronavirus. 

This blog will be updated throughout Friday, May 22, with news and details of COVID-19 in Georgia.

» Complete coverage: Coronavirus

7 p.m.: The AJC is keeping track of reported coronavirus deaths and cases across Georgia, as reported by the Department of Public Health. This evening, there are at least 1,808 deaths from COVID-19 and 41,482 confirmed cases in the state.

6 p.m.: While in Atlanta, Vice President Mike Pence praised Gov. Brian Kemp and Georgia restaurant owners who have reopened their establishments in recent weeks. Tamar Hallerman has the story.

6 p.m.: UGA is going a step above what was required by the SEC and will test all football players and other athletes returning to campus whether they show signs of the coronavirus or not. Chip Towers has the story.

1 p.m.: The AJC is keeping track of reported coronavirus deaths and cases across Georgia, as reported by the Department of Public Health. At midday, there are at least 1,785 deaths from COVID-19 and 41,218 confirmed cases in the state.

11:45 a.m.: The full Atlanta run of “Hamilton” has shifted to 2021. Music blogger Melissa Ruggieri has dates and other details.

10:45 a.m.: Venturing out for Memorial Day weekend? Sarah K. Spencer steps away from the Hawks beat to bring you some updated guidelines.

9:30 a.m.: Travel and tourism are among the many casualties of the COVID-19 pandemic, specifically Atlanta’s niche market as the “birthplace of the civil rights movement,” Ernie Suggs reports.

6:30 a.m.: A viral Facebook post falsely claiming new federal legislation would allow the government to forcibly remove people from their homes is an example of one of the many messaging challenges facing Georgia’s growing team of contact tracers. Tamar Hallerman has the story.

» Coronavirus in Georgia: stats in real time

» Tips to keep you safer as Georgia reopens during pandemic

OVERNIGHT

David Wickert reported that, with Georgia slowly reopening, transit ridership has stabilized, and several agencies are making tentative plans to restore some service.

THURSDAY’S TOP STORIES

DAILY CORONAVIRUS UPDATES

Thursday, May 21

Wednesday, May 20

Tuesday, May 19

Monday, May 18

Saturday, May 16

Friday, May 15

Thursday, May 14

Wednesday, May 13

Tuesday, May 12

Monday, May 11

Sunday, May 10

Saturday, May 9

Friday, May 8

Thursday, May 7

Wednesday, May 6

Tuesday, May 5

Monday, May 4

Saturday, May 2

Friday, May 1

Thursday, April 30

Wednesday, April 29

Tuesday, April 28

Monday, April 27

Saturday, April 25

Friday, April 24

Thursday, April 23

Wednesday, April 22

Tuesday, April 21

Monday, April 20

Friday, April 17

Thursday, April 16

Wednesday, April 15

Tuesday, April 14

Monday, April 13

Sunday, April 12

Saturday, April 11

Friday, April 10

Thursday, April 9

Wednesday, April 8

Tuesday, April 7

Monday, April 6

Sunday, April 5

Saturday,  April 4

Friday, April 3

Thursday, April 2

Wednesday, April 1

Tuesday, March 31

Monday, March 30

Friday, March 27

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 25

Tuesday, March 24

Monday, March 23

Friday, March 20

Thursday, March 19

Wednesday, March 18

Tuesday, March 17

Monday, March 16

Sunday, March 15

Saturday, March 14

Friday, March 13

Thursday, March 12

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

With the largest team in the state, the AJC reports what’s really going on with your tax dollars and your elected officials. Subscribe today. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

Your subscription to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

X