COVID-19 May 'Never Go Away,' Leading WHO Official Says According to Dr. Mike Ryan, executive director of the WHO's health emergencies program, coronavirus could join the ranks of diseases that pop up annually. He made the comments at a briefing this week in Geneva. Dr. Mike Ryan, via briefing Dr. Mike Ryan, via briefing Ryan adds that the effectiveness of a vaccine will depend on if COVID-19 is a long or short-term issue. Dr. Mike Ryan, via briefing Dr. Mike Ryan, via briefing WHO epidemiologist Dr. M

Latest Atlanta coronavirus news: Georgia’s COVID-19 deaths near 1,600

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is committed to providing our readers with the most comprehensive coverage of the deadly coronavirus. 

This blog will be updated throughout Saturday, May 16, with news and details of COVID-19 in Georgia.

» Complete coverage: Coronavirus

7 p.m.: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is keeping track of reported coronavirus deaths and cases across Georgia according to the Department of Public Health. There are now 1,598 deaths from COVID-19 and 37,212 confirmed cases in the state.

3 p.m.: Georgia will ship anti-viral drug to hospitals to fight coronavirus. The Georgia Department of Public Health said Saturday it is distributing the first of two allotments of a promising anti-viral drug to eight hospitals across the state to help patients suffering from severe symptoms of COVID-19, the AJC’s J. Scott Trubey reports.

1 p.m.: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution is keeping track of reported coronavirus deaths and cases across Georgia, as reported by the Department of Public Health. As of midday, Georgia has 1,592 COVID-19 deaths and 37,147 confirmed cases.

12:30 p.m.: Federal relief money falls short of covering hospital losses. So far in Georgia, the federal government has distributed more than $1 billion in early relief funds among nearly 4,900 health care providers. Yamil Berard has that story.

11 a.m.: Former President Barack Obama will deliver two commencement addresses today for graduates not able to have ceremonies due to the pandemic, here's what you need to know about tuning in.

7 a.m.: Helena Oliviero reports on the major coronavirus-related developments over the past week, including 

Gov. Brian Kemp extending some coronavirus restrictions and easing others, setting the stage for summer camps to reopen and select state employees to return to offices.

» Coronavirus in Georgia: stats in real time


OVERNIGHT

FRIDAY’S TOP STORIES

DAILY CORONAVIRUS UPDATES

Friday, May 15

Thursday, May 14

Wednesday, May 13

Tuesday, May 12

Monday, May 11

Sunday, May 10

Saturday, May 9

Friday, May 8

Thursday, May 7

Wednesday, May 6

Tuesday, May 5

Monday, May 4

Saturday, May 2

Friday, May 1

Thursday, April 30

Wednesday, April 29

Tuesday, April 28

Monday, April 27

Saturday, April 25

Friday, April 24

Thursday, April 23

Wednesday, April 22

Tuesday, April 21

Monday, April 20

Friday, April 17

Thursday, April 16

Wednesday, April 15

Tuesday, April 14

Monday, April 13

Sunday, April 12

Saturday, April 11

Friday, April 10

Thursday, April 9

Wednesday, April 8

Tuesday, April 7

Monday, April 6

Sunday, April 5

Saturday,  April 4

Friday, April 3

Thursday, April 2

Wednesday, April 1

Tuesday, March 31

Monday, March 30

Friday, March 27

Thursday, March 26

Wednesday, March 25

Tuesday, March 24

Monday, March 23

Friday, March 20

Thursday, March 19

Wednesday, March 18

Tuesday, March 17

Monday, March 16

Sunday, March 15

Saturday, March 14

Friday, March 13

Thursday, March 12

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.
AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.

With the largest team in the state, the AJC reports what’s really going on with your tax dollars and your elected officials. Subscribe today. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

Your subscription to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism. Visit the AJC's Georgia Navigator for the latest in Georgia politics.

X