A sign, “Wait here to vote,” is shown as a voter walks toward voting booths during the Georgia runoff election at the North Fulton Government Service Center Tuesday, July 24, 2018, in Sandy Springs, Ga. There have been an increase in election challenges in Fulton County in 2019. (JASON GETZ/SPECIAL TO THE AJC) AJC FILE PHOTO
Photo: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Photo: The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Metro Atlanta runoff elections: Mayoral, council races decided Tuesday

Voters in a handful of metro Atlanta communities will hit the polls again on Tuesday, deciding runoff races for key municipal positions.

The contests include five mayoral races and 11 city council spots that weren’t quite decided during the Nov. 5 elections, usually because a large number of candidates meant nobody won a majority of the votes cast — in such instances, the top two vote-getters proceed to a runoff.

In the case of one Smyrna council race, a re-vote was triggered because both candidates garnered the exact same number of votes.

Voters should check that they live within the limits of their respective cities before heading to the polls Tuesday.

Visit ajc.com for post-election results.

Clayton County

College Park

Mayor: Bianca Motley Broom and Jack Longino (I)


Mayor: Jeff DeTar (I) and John Lampl

City Council Post 4: Larry Ferguson (I) and Khoa Vuong

Cobb County


Mayor: Derek Norton and Ryan Campbell

City Council Ward 2 (re-vote): Andrea Blustein (I) and Austin Wagner

DeKalb County


Mayor: Joseph Geierman and Donna Pittman (I)


City Council District 5: Tammy Grimes and Dave Marcus

Fayette County


City Council Post 2: Kathaleen Brewer (I) and Joe Clark

Fulton County

College Park

Mayor: Bianca Motley Broom and Jack Longino (I)

Johns Creek

City Council Post 2: Dilip Tunki and Brian Weaver

City Council Post 4: Chris Coughlin (I) and Marybeth Cooper

City Council Post 6: Erin Elwood and Issure C. Yang


City Council Post 3: Christine Hall and Lisa Holland

Gwinnett County


Town Council District 1: Richard Mayberry and Becky Richardson (I)


City Council at-large: Bruce Gaynor and Tyler Hannel


City Council Post 2: Solange Destang and Brittany Marmol

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.