New Cobb school board members to be sworn in at ceremony

Two new Cobb County school board members are expected to be sworn into office in an upcoming ceremony.

The swearing-in ceremony for Susan Thayer and David Chastain will be Jan. 6 at 8:30 a.m. at the school board’s headquarters in Marietta.

Board members will then meet for the reorganization of the seven-member board and to set the 2015 meeting schedule.

Republican Thayer beat Democrat Kenya Pierre to take the Post 2 seat on the Cobb school board in the November elections.

Chastain beat fellow newcomer Bill Scott, both Republicans, for the Post 4 seat in the May primary. There was no Democrat in the race.