Metro Atlanta burn ban in effect starting May 1

As of May 1, you can’t openly burn debris in metro Atlanta.

The Georgia Environmental Protection Division enforces a 54-county burn ban from May 1 to Sept. 30 each year in order to prevent air pollution.

Ozone, a greenhouse gas that can cause respiratory irritation, can be formed by the pollutants produced by open burning, according to EPD. Ozone is already at increased levels in metro Atlanta during the summer, and the burn ban is intended to prevent more from being produced.

READ | $34.8M resurfacing project in Cobb to cause I-75 closures for months

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 Abrams ends run for governor against Kemp, but won’t concede
  2. 2 Atlanta Solid Waste workers: Deadly job with pitiful pay | Torpy
  3. 3 ‘We’re moving on.’ Kemp vows to unite divided Georgi

READ | These are the fastest-growing jobs in Gwinnett County

READ | These ‘Jeopardy!’ contestants hailed from metro Atlanta

Grills and campfires are not included in the ban, so your summer cookouts and camping trips are safe. Agricultural burning, firefighting training and operating “open flame equipment” are also permitted. 

Bonfires are allowed with proper permits, which you get by calling 1-877-OK2-BURN.

All other outdoor burning is prohibited in metro Atlanta through October 1, when the ban is lifted.

The burn ban covers 19 metro Atlanta counties: Bartow, Carroll, Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Hall, Henry, Newton, Paulding, Spaulding, Rockdale and Walton. Thirty-five other counties are also included.

You can find a map and more county-by-county information here.

Like Gwinnett County News on Facebook | Follow us on Twitter and Instagram

Stay up to the minute with breaking news on Channel 2 Action News This Morning

In other news:

Police say this is the latest of five cases reported in metro Atlanta since March.

More from AJC