Anna Beck lost 35 pounds

Anna Beck at 156 pounds in August 2015. (Anna Beck)

Combined ShapeCaption
Anna Beck at 156 pounds in August 2015. (Anna Beck)

Be an inspiration: If you've made positive changes in your diet and/or fitness routine and are happy with the results, please share your success with us. Include your email address, a daytime phone number and before and after photos (by mail or JPEG). Write: Success Stories, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, 223 Perimeter Center Parkway, Atlanta, GA, 30346-1301; or e-mail Michelle C. Brooks,

Success story

Anna Beck, 37: From 156 pounds to 121 pounds

Former weight: 156 pounds

Current weight: 121 pounds

Pounds lost: 35 pounds

Height: 5 feet, 5 inches

Age: 37 years

How long she's kept it off: She started in January and reached her current weight in August.

Personal life: "I have been married for 12 years and live with my husband, three children, and a dog. I work in the financial services sector," said Beck, who lives in Marietta.

Turning point: "I decided to address my weight when the number on the scale started creeping above the healthy weight range for my height. Joining a supportive weight-loss community, Sparkle A New You, and an encouraging fitness community at CrossFit Dwala, is what has made me stick to the process. Both places have shown me what is possible and provided me with the tools and knowledge to succeed."

Diet plan: "I used MyFitnessPal to track my daily calories and macro-nutrients. I did not cut out anything completely, but did reduce my processed sugar intake and increased my protein intake. I also try to concentrate on healthy fats, such as avocado, nuts and olive oil. I typically have a whole-wheat English muffin, a slice of provolone cheese and tea with honey for breakfast. Lunch is normally a salad with either fish, chicken or plant protein and dinner is a protein with veggies. In between meals, I snack on apples with almond butter, dried fruit with nuts and seeds, and protein bars."

Exercise routine: "I try to work out six days a week. I typically do CrossFit two to three times a week, and run outside the other three to four days."

Biggest challenge: "I love dessert. It has been extremely challenging to find a way to eat dessert without overdoing it. I am still working on it."

How life has changed: "I have a lot more energy now to do fun things on the weekends with my kids. I don't dread going shopping for clothes. I ran my first half-marathon in September, which was a bucket-list item for at least five years. I am looking forward to continuing to improve my fitness and making weight maintenance a sustainable part of my lifestyle. I am much more open to trying new things and having new experiences. Staying connected to a support community has really been key for me."