What they said Saturday

Defending Masters champion Bubba Watson (LEFT) talks with his playing partner Jeff Knox as they walk down the #10 fairway during the third round in the Masters Tournament on Saturday April 13 2013.

Combined ShapeCaption
Defending Masters champion Bubba Watson (LEFT) talks with his playing partner Jeff Knox as they walk down the #10 fairway during the third round in the Masters Tournament on Saturday April 13 2013.

Reaction from Masters players on Tiger Woods’ two-shot penalty:

BUBBA WATSON

Defending Masters champion

He’s a high-profile player; everybody wants to see him play. If you like him or don’t like him, you still want to see him play. … But it was one of those things where he took a drop that he felt was right. He wasn’t trying to cheat anybody. He thought it was right. And unfortunate for him that he got a two-shot penalty, but (it’s) fortunate for him that he’s still playing.

LUCAS GLOVER

Former U.S. Open champion

I’m quite certain that with the powers-that-be here, they looked at it and judged it correctly because there’s so many USGA guys, and Fred Ridley is a huge USGA guy. I feel like they were by the book, and Tiger being Tiger, he’s as up-and-up with the rules as anybody. … He’s always done the up-and-up thing with the rules, and he’s always been a stickler for the rules and a traditionalist for the game. So, comfortable with it? Yeah, I’m fine with it because I know they did everything they could to make the right decision.

NICK WATNEY

Five-time PGA Tour winner

I know he didn’t do anything malicious or (try) to gain an advantage or anything like that, and there’s officials all over the place, and when he took the drop, there was no issue.

TIANLANG GUAN

Youngest ever in Masters

I think rules are rules, and I respect the decisions they make.

SANDY LYLE

1988 Masters champion

I think that’s probably a little harsh, disqualifying himself. But then again other guys could have been disqualified because he signed his card, the card’s in, and you find out later on there was a discrepancy in his ruling. Yeah, you know, that’s not my control.

LUKE DONALD

Former World No. 1

Obviously that doesn’t happen in other sports. Our sport is a sport that there’s quite a lot of time between shots. In basketball, American football, everything happens so quickly, and everything is controlled by the referees. Our sport is a little different. People have that ability to call in. I’m not sure whether I’m for it or against it, but I guess that’s why they brought that other rule out for situations where people do call in.

STEWART CINK

Former British Open champion

I didn’t see a two-stroke penalty in the cards. … It’s a very basic rule that all the golfers in the Masters know. But when you get in the intensity of the Masters, and there’s a lot going on …. things don’t go right in the mind. I think that’s what the case was.

STEVE STRICKER

12-time PGA Tour winner

I think all-in-all, they got it right. I don’t think he should have been DQ’d, although he did take an illegal drop, but everybody knew about it before him signing the card. … So I think that’s why they waived the DQ part of it. Yeah, it’s kind of a tough one.