Paul Johnson’s accomplishments at Georgia Tech

Paul Johnson, who is retiring after 11 seasons at Georgia Tech, was the longest-tenured current coach in the ACC.

He was hired at Georgia Tech one week before David Cutcliffe was hired at Duke.

Only 12 FBS coaches have been at their current school longer than Johnson, whose career at Tech has spanned longer than any head coach since Dodd retired after 22 seasons in 1966.

In addition to the three ACC Coach of the Year awards (2008, 2009, 2014), eight bowl appearances (2008-14, 2016), three bowl victories (2012, 2014, 2016), three ACC title games (2009, 2012, 2014) and 75 wins, Johnson’s long list of accomplishments at Georgia Tech includes:

• four nine-win seasons (2008, 2009, 2014, 2016) – Tech had just seven nine-win seasons in the 51 years immediately preceding Johnson's arrival;
• two of the nine 10-win seasons in program history (2009, 2014);
• one of the five 11-win seasons in program history (2014);
• six first- or second-place finishes in the ACC Coastal Division – the only other ACC teams that have finished first or second in their division as many times in the last 10 seasons are Clemson (8), Florida State (7) and Virginia Tech (7);
• leading the ACC and ranking among the top 10 nationally in rushing offense every season;
• leading the nation in rushing offense twice – 2010 (323.3 ypg) and 2014 (342.1 ypg);
• compiling seven of the top 10 seasons in school history in terms of rushing offense;
• compiling six of the top 10 seasons in school history in terms of total offense;
• scoring at least 30 points in a game 63 times (going 51-12 in those contests);
• a 9-5 record (.643) at home against nationally ranked opponents (including three wins over top 10 teams)

With the Yellow Jackets, Johnson has coached:

• three first-team all-Americans – Michael Johnson (2008), Derrick Morgan (2009) and Shaquille Mason (2014);
• the 2008 ACC Offensive Player of the Year (Jonathan Dwyer);
• the 2009 ACC Defensive Player of the Year (Morgan);
• 15 first-team all-ACC honorees;
• 19 National Football League draft picks, including five selected in the first two rounds;
• six players who have rushed for 1,000 yards in a season a total of seven times – Dwyer (2008), Dwyer and Joshua Nesbitt (2009), Anthony Allen (2010),
Justin Thomas (2014), TaQuon Marshall and KirVonte Benson (2017).

Source: Georgia Tech Athletics