Q&A on the News

“To make the nation truly interoperable, not only is technology key, but agreements must be in place between states to make it work, and those take time,” Cramer wrote in an email.

For example, E-ZPass works in 16 states, and Georgia’s Peach Pass works with North Carolina and Florida. Florida’s SunPass also is scheduled to become interoperable with South Carolina, Texas, Oklahoma and Kansas in the first quarter of 2018, Cramer wrote.

“IBTTA is committed to nationwide interoperability, but it is not like flipping a switch. There are more than 50 million transponders in use across the U.S., and it will evolve as states work with one another to ensure all drivers have a convenient and hassle-free system in place,” he wrote.

Fast Copy News Service wrote this column. Do you have a question? We’ll try to get the answer. Call 404-222-2002 or email q&a@ajc.com (include name, phone and city).

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.