Al Gilbert and Arnold Martin were chosen from among eight other candidates for two seats on the Planning Commission. Courtesy Fayette County

Two appointments made to Fayette County planning board

The Fayette County Board of Commissioners has filled two vacancies on the county’s Planning Commission.

The board voted unanimously on April 23 to reappoint Al Gilbert of Fayetteville to a term that expires on Dec. 31, 2021. Gilbert has already served on the Planning Commission for 30 years. The board members also unanimously appointed Arnold Martin of Fayetteville to replace incumbent member Jim Graw, for a term that expires at the end of 2021. Gilbert and Martin were chosen over eight other candidates by a selection committee consisting of Planning Commission Chairman John Culbreth, Zoning Administrator Chanelle Blaine and the county’s director of community services, Pete Frisina.

The five-member Planning Commission meets twice a month and carries out directives based on county ordinances, as well as any other duties assigned by the Board of Commissioners.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.