(L-R) Sheila Marshal, Ra Barr and Kent Shelton took their oaths of office on Jan. 6 as appointed members of the Development Authority of Powder Springs by Mayor Al Thurman and City Clerk Kelly Axt. (Courtesy of Powder Springs)

Powder Springs inaugurates mayor, 2 council members

Powder Springs Mayor Albert Thurman, Councilman Patrick Bordelon and Councilwoman Patricia Wisdom all began their second four-year terms after being reelected by voters in November and sworn in to office on Jan. 6.

Chosen by secret ballot of the City Council members, Councilman Henry Lust will serve as mayor pro tem, assuming mayoral duties if Thurman is absent.

Council members also appointed Kent Shelton to the Development Authority of Powder Springs and reappointed Sheila Marshal and Ra Barr.

The three took their oaths of office later in the meeting.

Also, the Council reappointed Kelly Axt as city clerk and Richard Calhoun and/or David Hammock of Gregory, Doyle, Calhoun and Rogers Attorneys at Law in Marietta as city attorney.

Due to the Martin Luther King Jr. holiday on Jan. 20 when city offices will be closed, the Council’s next meeting will be held at 7 p.m. Jan. 21 in Council Chambers.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.