Henry County commision chair named to state board of corrections

Henry County Board of Commissioners Chair June Wood was sworn in March 6 at the state Capitol by Gov. Nathan Deal to serve on the Georgia State Board of Corrections. Wood was appointed last year to serve on the 19-member board and represents the 13th Congressional District.

The governor appoints all members, subject to the consent of the State Senate, to staggered five-year terms. The Board of Corrections is a policy-making, statutory board whose duties and responsibilities include governing the conduct and welfare of employees under its authority. Board members serve on the various following committees: Budget/Utilities, Correctional Industries/Food & Farm, Education/Recidivism, Facilities, Health Services and Nominations.