All four incumbents on the Hampton City Council lost their bids for re-election.

Four new council members chosen in Hampton

Four new faces will be on the Hampton City Council soon as a result of the Nov. 7 election. Mayor Steve Hutchison was the only incumbent in Hampton’s elections who won re-election, outpolleing Wayne Selman almost 4-to-1 with 78 percent of just over 1,000 votes cast.

A total of four council seats were up for grabs, including one special election to fill the last two years of an unexpired term. The top three vote-getters for the regular at-large election were Stephanie G. Bodie, Willie Turner and Errol Mitchell. Finishing just behind that trio were incumbents Marty Meeks and Charles Hearn. Rounding out the field in order of finish were Alford A. Wiliams, Edward T. Spencer and Shawn Black.

Incumbent Mary Ann Mitcham chose to run in the special election and she finished second to Elton Brown, with Timothy L. Branch coming in third. The new term for each winning candidate begins in January.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.