Early voting is underway for two East Point runoff elections. CONTRIBUTED

East Point offers early voting for runoff elections

Early voting in East Point for mayor and a city council post runoffs are going on through Friday, Dec. 1.

East Point mayor: Deana H. Ingraham, Clyde K. Mitchell

East Point City Council Ward C: Nanette Saucier, Earnestine D. Pittman

All voting will take place 8:30 a.m to 7 p.m. at East Point Library, 2757 Main Street

The City of East Point operates under a city council form of government. The City Manager is responsible for the day-to-day operations and is approved by an eight-member city council, which is led by the mayor who serves a four-year term with veto power.

East Point is divided into four wards (A, B, C & D), and each ward is represented by two members of City Council elected by their constituency to serve a four-year term. The elected officials’ policy leadership is combined with the administrative abilities of the city manager to operate the city.

City Council meets in regular session twice a month on the first and third Monday (6:30 PM) at the City Annex, 3121 Norman Berry Drive, East Point, Georgia 30344. In addition, East Point City Council Work Sessions are held on the second Monday of each month at the same location. City Council meetings are televised on EPTV.

The voter registration deadline was Tuesday, Oct. 10.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.