Cop, judge, banker: Cobb County announces its Citizens of the Year

A collage of the 2016 Cobb County Citizens of the Year composed from pictures provided by the Cobb County Chamber.

Credit: Cobb County Chamber

Combined ShapeCaption
A collage of the 2016 Cobb County Citizens of the Year composed from pictures provided by the Cobb County Chamber.

Credit: Cobb County Chamber

Credit: Cobb County Chamber

With the holidays usually comes the the spirit of thankfulness.

And there are four people for which Cobb County should be thankful.

The Cobb Chamber of Commerce announced the citizens of the year from different parts of the county.

The awards are given to people who have been role models to their neighbors over the years. Nominations came from their individual communities.

The honorees are listed below with a description of their accomplishments:

♦Acworth, Kim Wigington (director of the Brookwood Christian School)

As chair of the Downtown Development Authority, Wigington guided the city in adopting six projects that changed Acworth's historic business district and created new jobs, according to the chamber. Wigington is also a member of NorthStar Church and is a former chair of the Acworth Business Association.

♦East Cobb, Major Jerry Quan (Cobb County Police Department)

Major Quan started with the department in 1989 and now heads up the precinct covering the Sandy Plains and Johnson Ferry areas. He often volunteers with local schools, the chamber said. He’s also active in the 5k and racing community, along with Habitat for Humanity.

♦Kennesaw, Rene Dollar (vice president of ServisFirst Bank)

Dollar runs the bank's canned food drive for the Center for Family Resources and its Thanks for Giving campaign. Dollar also supports Piedmont Church's Christmas at Piedmont, which has raised $15,300, according to the chamber.

Marietta, District Attorney Vic Reynolds (Cobb County District Attorney's Office)

A 30-year Cobb resident, Reynolds was chief magistrate and presided over Cobb County Drug Court from 1994 to 1999, the chamber said. After leaving the bench, he became a criminal defense attorney and became district attorney in 2012. Reynolds is a member of the Kiwanis Club of Marietta and the Cobb County Republican Party.

Like Cobb County News Now on Facebook | Follow us on Twitter and Instagram.

Smyrna, Chief David Lee (Smyrna Police Department)

After retiring from Marietta Police Department, Lee became Smyrna police chief in 2013, the chamber said. In that role, he created a citizens police academy, a chaplaincy and self-defense programs for women.

♦West Cobb, Judge Greg Poole (Cobb County Superior Court)

Before joining the court in 2013, Poole served on the Cobb County Juvenile Court for almost a decade. He's a Marietta native, the chamber said. He served on the Marietta Schools Foundation board and is a member of First United Methodist Church.

About the Author