Cobb County commissioners have updated their Local Emergency Operations Plan. Courtesy of Cobb County

Cobb updates Emergency Operations Plan

Cobb County’s Local Emergency Operations Plan was updated Aug. 8 by the Cobb County Board of Commissioners. The 238-page document was last updated in August 2013 and must be updated every four years, according to Georgia Emergency Management Agency regulations.

The plan’s purpose is to describe the structure and processes to incident management, integrating the efforts of city governments, the private sector and nongovernmental organizations.

The Cobb County plan is a collaborative effort among the cities of Acworth, Austell, Kennesaw, Marietta, Powder Springs, Smyrna, public agencies, nonprofit organizations, the private sector, Cobb County residents, regional organizations, state government and Cobb County Government.

This Emergency Operations Plan describes the management and coordination of resources and personnel during periods of major emergency, including lessons learned from disasters and emergencies that have threatened Cobb County.

Next the plan will be submitted to GEMA for final approval.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.