Three people have entered the race for Fulton County commission chair

Three people entered the race to lead the Fulton County commission on the first day of qualifying.

Former Fulton County commissioner Robb Pitts, Sandy Springs city councilman Gabriel Sterling and state representative Keisha Waites, D-Atlanta, all filed paperwork Monday to run for the chair’s seat.

Qualifying is open until Wednesday for the position, and the winner will fill the unexpired term of former Fulton County commission chairman John Eaves. Eaves resigned last month to run for mayor of Atlanta.

In addition to electing a new chair, voters in District 4 will elect a new representative. Joan Garner, a member of the Fulton County board of commissioners, died earlier this year.

Vying for that seat are Eddie Lee Brewster; Kathryn Flowers Glasco; Natalie Hall; Steven D. Lee, Sr.; Reese McCranie; and Joshua McNair.