Gwinnett Alliance for Gifted Education to honor students

Gwinnett Alliance for Gifted Education hosts and awards ceremony on April 17. CONTRIBUTED

Combined ShapeCaption
Gwinnett Alliance for Gifted Education hosts and awards ceremony on April 17. CONTRIBUTED

The Gwinnett Alliance for Gifted Education announced recently that it will hold its 37th Annual Awards Ceremony at the Gwinnett Environmental and Heritage Center in Buford on April 17. Current President Kathy Marks will preside at the ceremony.

Each Gwinnett County public school may select a student who has made the most of their experience in the gifted program, has made a positive impact on the learning experiences of others, and/or has served the school in significant ways. Each school will determine the criteria and process by which the student will be selected to receive the GAGE Student of the Year Award. Elementary students will be recognized at a session beginning at 6:15. Middle and high school students will be recognized beginning at 7:15. A reception for all award recipients, family and friends is planned for 6:45 to 7:15 p.m.

Summer scholarship awards of $100 each 

Hajun Kim, Level Creek Elementary

Olivia Lindsey, Pharr Elementary

David Sanchez, Pharr Elementary

Keshave Parthasarathy, Coleman Middle School

Aminah Muhammad, Northbrook Middle School

Randal Tart, Pinckneyville Middle School

Calandra McCollins, Norcross High School

Scholarship for graduating seniors of $500 each 

Ruth Cowan Scholarship Award: Leala Ho, Norcross High School

Annette Eger All Children Are Gifts Scholarship Award: Ian Huelsbeck, Norcross High School

The following adult awards based on GAGE member nominations will also be presented: 

GAGE Elementary Teacher of the Year: Mona Brawley, Partee Elementary

GAGE Administrator of the Year: Melissa Madsen, Britt Elementary

GAGE Parent of the Year: Monchello Curry

Hughes Award: Dr. Hector Rosario

VIDEO: In other Education news

About the Author