“State troopers and officers will be on high visibility patrols during the 54-hour holiday period,” said Col. Gary Vowell, commissioner of the Georgia Department of Public Safety. “Our goal is to keep the number of traffic crashes, injuries and fatalities at a minimum, as well as discourage impaired driving.”
The Hands-Free Georgia Act prohibits motorists from handling a cell phone or other wireless device while driving. A first-offense costs $50.
Earlier this year, the General Assembly considered legislation that would doubled the cost of violations. But it failed to pass during the legislative session.