"We do this to improve pickups, drop-offs, customer service and to enhance safety," the site said, adding that the information is collected when users are using the app and it is visible on their phone screens, during trips even if the app is not visible on screens, and up to five minutes after the Uber driver ends a trip, even if the app is in the background and not being actively used on the phone.
"If you want to turn off collection, you can disable location services through your device settings," the site said.
NPR reported that Uber used to have the option to access user's location "Never" or "While using the app." The latter has been replaced by "Always."
"The FTC failed to act and Uber is now tracking users non-stop," EPIC said in response to the latest Uber update on its website.