Q & A on the News

Q: Please provide some information on the statewide vote on T-SPLOST. I understand there are a number of regions throughout Georgia that will share in the tax proceeds. Please explain if this is a statewide vote with all regions winning or losing, or if the votes in each region determine whether that region wins or loses?

—Frank Shoppe, Carrollton

A: Georgia is divided into 12 economic development regions for the purpose of the Transportation Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax (T-SPLOST), which is on the July 31 ballot. Each region is headed by a commission. Voters in each region will determine if T-SPLOST, which will be funded by a 1-cent sales tax, passes in that specific area. If it passes in a region, "Local officials in each region have developed a list of transportation projects that can be funded by the additional revenue generated — and only projects on this approved list will be funded," according to www.t-splost.com. These projects include "roads, bridges, transit, freight and passenger rail, ports, airports and bicycle and pedestrian facilities," according to the website. If T-SPLOST isn't approved in a region, it will not "receive the additional funds to pay for proposed projects." The metro Atlanta counties of Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry and Rockdale are grouped in Region 3. Carroll County is part of the Three Rivers Regional Commission (Region 4) that also includes Butts, Coweta, Heard, Lamar, Meriwether, Pike, Spalding, Troup and Upson counties.

Andy Johnston wrote this column. Do you have a question about the news? We'll try to get the answer. Call 404-222-2002 or email q&a@ajc.com (include name, phone and city).