Marietta Mayor Steve “Thunder” Tumlin, right, is unopposed for the Nov. 7 general election. Councilman Philip Goldstein, left, will not seek re-election after serving continuously since 1980. Councilman Johnny Walker also is unopposed. AJC file photo

Marietta City Council has 11 candidates

Qualifying ended Aug. 23 with 11 candidates for seven posts on the Marietta City Council and no opposition to Mayor Steve “Thunder” Tumlin.

For Ward 1, candidates are Greg Bieger, Jay Davis and Cheryl Richardson. Ward 1 Councilman Stuart Fleming will not seek re-election after serving one term since 2014.

Incumbents facing no opposition are Grif Chalfant for Ward 2, Johnny M. Walker for Ward 3, Andy Morris for Ward 4 and Michelle Cooper Kelly for Ward 6.

For Ward 5, candidates are Reggie Copeland, Ben Lyman and incumbent Ruben J. Sands.

The only Ward 7 candidate is Joseph R. Goldstein whose father Philip M. Goldstein will not seek re-election after serving in that office continuously since 1980.

The general election will be Nov. 7.

Those elected will serve four-year terms from Jan. 1, 2018 to Jan. 1, 2022.


Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.