APS superintendent: Close 13 schools

Atlanta School Superintendent Erroll Davis has revealed his preliminary recommendation for closing 13 schools and redrawing school attendance zones across the school district.

Davis said the plan -- which he submits to the Atlanta School Board later today -- will create 10 school clusters and a system allowing elementary schools to feed into designated middle schools. The middle schools would then feed into specific high schools.

The sweeping changes, posted to the school system web site late Sunday night, are needed because the district currently has seats for 60,000 students, but only 47,000 in attendance, Davis said.

Slated for closing under his proposal are:

  • Parks Middle School
  • Capitol View Elementary School
  • Thomasville Heights Elementary School
  • Boyd Elementary School
  • F.L. Stanton Elementary School
  • White Elementary School
  • Fain Elementary School
  • Cook Elementary School
  • Coan Middle School
  • East Lake Elementary School;
  • Humphries Elementary School
  • Kennedy Middle School
  • Herndon Elementary School

A map of the boundaries for the clusters is due out by Friday. Davis presents his recommendation to the board today, but final adoption of a plan is not due until April, after more public hearings.

Today's board meeting is at The Center for Learning and Leadership Auditorium, at 130 Trinity Avenue.

The board work session begins at 2 p.m. The community meeting begins at 6 p.m., with speaker sign-up from 5 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.