Ten metro Atlanta teachers recognized for extraordinary work

Oct 26, 2017
Ten educators from across metro Atlanta were named as the first class for The Atlanta Journal-Constitution's Celebrating Teachers Award in 2017. Left to right: Jill Buchanan, Maureen Wales, Susan Ahmad, Butch Soles, Kari Parlier, Farhat Ahmad, Tiffany Bunch, Angela Gray, Jim Reason and Lynnette Lindesay.

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution honored ten educators from across metro Atlanta Wednesday with its first annual Celebrating Teachers Award.

The awards went to ten men and women, nominated by colleagues, students, administrators, for work that goes above and beyond a simple job description.

The winners of the 2017 Celebrating Teachers Award inspired success for their students by showing extraordinary passion, creativity, energy, love and commitment.

This year’s winners are: Farhat Ahmad at McClarin Success Academy in Fulton County; Susan Ahmad from Lake Windward Elementary in Fulton County; Jill Buchanan in Douglas County; and Tiffany Bunch in Dekalb County.

Also, Angela Gray from Baggett Elementary in Gwinnett County; Lynnette Lindesay in Fulton County.

Kari Parlier in Gwinnett County’s Duncan Creek Elementary was a winner, as was Jim Reason from Duluth High School and Butch Soles from Arbor Station Elementary in Douglas County.

Maureen Wales from Alpharetta Elementary in Fulton County was the final teacher recoginzed for her outstanding work.

You can find out more about the award at http://www.ajc.com/news/schools/ajc-cup/

In other Education news:

The two suspects are scheduled to appear in court Wednesday.