Q: A player punts the ball, and it is very low and hits a receiving team member around the line of scrimmage. Is the ball now a recoverable ball for the punting team, or is it treated like a live punt? - Rob Roberts, Ball Ground
A: The touching of a low scrimmage kick by any player is ignored if the touching is in or behind the expanded neutral zone. This is found in Rule 6, Section 2, Article 6. The improvement in the kicking game in Georgia over the past 20-plus years makes this type of play less frequent than in years prior, but now that it has been asked, it will probably happen in numerous games Friday night." - Keith Hammond, Georgia Football Officials Association
Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.
Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.
Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.
Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism. AJC.com. Atlanta. News. Now.
Download the new AJC app. More local news, more breaking news and in-depth journalism.