South Carolina joins list of states honoring Georgia gun permits

Georgia and South Carolina gun owners with permits to carry in public can now legally cross the two states’ borders.

Georgia Attorney General Sam Olens on Tuesday officially added South Carolina to the list of states who honor Georgia’s gun permits after S.C. Gov. Nikki Haley signed into law a bill granting Georgians the same recognition.

The South Carolina bill nearly died in the final hours of that state's legislative session as senators raised concerns that Georgia weapons permit holders can be as young as 18 and do not have to take any training, something South Carolina's law has long required.

Georgia now recognizes firearms licenses from: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.