Super Tuesday is set for March 3. Fourteen states will be holding presidential primaries in 2020's biggest election so far. They are Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado ... Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, North Carolina ... Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont and Virginia. American Samoa is also voting, as are Democrats Abroad, the Democratic party affiliate for American citizens living outside the U.S. With California and Texas as two of the nation's most populous states, more than one thi

Super Tuesday 2020: Everything you need to know

More than one-third of America’s voting population is expected to cast their ballots on Super Tuesday, the biggest primary election so far in 2020.

On March 3, 14 states and American Samoa will be holding primaries in 2020’s historic presidential election: 

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • North Carolina
  • Oklahoma
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia  

Also voting are Democrats Abroad, the Democratic political party affiliate for American citizens living outside the U.S. The group functions as a state-level political party within the Democratic National Committee.

With both California and Texas—the two most populous states in the United States—holding their primaries on Super Tuesday, more than one third of the U.S. population is expected to vote on March 3.

Georgia has been part of Super Tuesday in the past, but not this year. Early voting, however, begins the day before, on March 2, for Georgia’s March 24 primary.