Henry County tax commissioner David Curry is the new Georgia revenue commissioner.

Henry County tax commissioner named state revenue commissioner

Henry County Tax Commissioner David Curry has been named State Revenue Commissioner by Gov. Brian Kemp and was sworn in on May 14.

First elected in Henry County in 2008, Curry was in the middle of his third term as tax commissioner. He succeeds outgoing revenue commissioner Lynne Riley, who was appointed by Kemp to serve as state treasurer, and is taking over a department with 1,100 total employees and 11 regional offices all across the state.

The Department of Revenue collected $22.7 billion last year according to its annual report, an increase of $1 billion over 2017. Curry will be succeeded by his chief deputy, Michael Harris, who will serve the remainder of his unexpired through the end of 2020.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.