Breaking News

Black militia not coming to Stone Mountain, leader says


64 Gwinnett students named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists

Students change classrooms at the Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science, and Technology in Lawrenceville.
Students change classrooms at the Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science, and Technology in Lawrenceville.

More than 60 Gwinnett County Public Schools seniors and three Wesleyan School seniors  are semifinalists for the prestigious National Merit Scholarship, the district announced.

About 16,000 students nationwide, including 64 from Gwinnett County, are in the running for the scholarships, which will be awarded in the spring. Students are evaluated on criteria including grade point average, extracurricular activities and moral character.

The semifinalists are:

Archer High School

Lucas R. Bumgarner

Lois V. Williams

Brookwood High School

Min-Seok Cho

Andrew N. Funston

Hilary Hsieh

Anna W. Hu

Kaelyn S. Kim

Ruby C. Lee

Central Gwinnett High School

Andy T. Chea

Collins Hill High School

Paul M. Matesevac

Daniel S. Park

Rubin Park

Sarah V. Tillman

Dacula High School

Mikayla G. Morgenroth

Duluth High School

Jackson R. Baird

Simon K. Chuang

Preethi Narayan

Grayson High School

Saket P. Shirsath

Joanna J. Thomas

Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science, and Technology

Hannah Ann

Neena R. Anthony

Salome M. Birhanu

Emma Q. Cooper

Micaiah Cowart

Iris A. Galfas

Nathaniel T. Gieseking

Frank Hu

Jamil F. Kassam

Celia Mathew

Dhaivat M. Mehta

Jayvon M. Nougaisse

David S. Pak

Robert S. Payne

Abinav R. Routhu

Shruthi I. Santhanam

Mill Creek High School

Joshua S. Hall

Garrett P. Lacina

Jason R. Russell

Mountain View High School

Matthew J. Kim

Norcross High School

Jakob A. Burns

Angela Lau

Chloe D. Pak

Matthew D. Sandry

Riley K. Stark

North Gwinnett High School

Nolan L. Brown

Esther Choi

Caitlyn A. Greene

Jenny Kang

Ahin Kim

Alvin K. Kim

Hongbum Kim

Allison H. Park

Abigail L. Pinkerton

Evan M. Roussey

Parkview High School

Craig B. Burnett

Jeremy Levin

Windsor I. Xu

Karen X. Ye

Peachtree Ridge High School

Sumedh S. Garimella

Terry Kang

Phillip B. Kim

Wesleyan School

Ethan Moon

Kelsey Rappe

Sutton West

Like Gwinnett County News on Facebook | Follow us on Twitter and Instagram

Before the first person was able to get through the gates, inspectors had to clear the rides as safe