Department heads will assist Fayette County board appointments

Fayette County will enlist the help of its administrative department heads when nominating candidates for advisory committees.

The Board of Commissioners voted 4-1 on Feb. 14 to amend its board appointments policy to designate department heads to nominate candidates for about a dozen committees, authorities, commissions or boards that advise or assist those departments. Examples include the library board, planning commission, zoning board of appeals, public arts committee, recreation commission, transportation committee and water committee.

Commission members will still directly nominate candidates for eight committees related to elections, health, development, tax assessment and social services. Commissioner Charles Rousseau opposed the change, citing concerns about possible conflicts of interest or undue influence within departments.

All board nominees must still be approved by a vote of the full commission.