6 candidates qualify for Post 3 seat in Roswell

Roswell City Hall

Roswell City Hall

Roswell will have a new Post 3 councilmember after an election in November.

The man currently holding that seat, Donald J. Horton, qualified to run for the mayor of Roswell in August. But Horton’s term isn’t up, so after the election, he’ll have to give up his unexpired seat on the council.

A special qualifying period was held for the post last week in Roswell and six candidates qualified for Horton’s seat. They are Hanny Alexander, Bassem Fakhoury, Sean A. Groer, Mike Nyden, Joe Piontek and George Vail.

NydenPiontek and Vail have all launched campaign websites.

The election for the Post 3 council seat will be held on the same day as Roswell’s other municipal elections, on Nov. 7. Whoever wins the seat will serve it through its original expiring date, Dec. 31, 2019.

Horton was elected to the Post 3 seat in 2015 after it was vacated by Betty Price, who left it to run for the State House. Horton beat out four other candidates for the post. He had also served as the mayor pro tem.

In the mayor's race, Horton will face competition from fellow councilmember Lori Henry, as well as residents Sandra Sidhom, Michael Litten and pastor Lee Jenkins.

Like North Fulton County News Now on Facebook | Follow on Twitter and Instagram


Roswell High School's football team traveled to Colquitt County to play Friday night, despite the State of Emergency in effect.