Cobb schools educators awarded Teachers of the Year

Three educators have been awarded Teachers of the Year for Cobb schools for the 2015-16 school year.

The elementary level winner is Ginny Lyon, Kindergarten teacher at Chalker Elementary in Kennesaw.

The middle school winner is Carol Mickus, a 7th grade science teacher at Cooper Middle School in Austell.

For high school, it’s First Sergeant Kathryn Burns (US Army), who teaches JROTC at Campbell High School in Smyrna.

Selected from among their peers, Cobb schools’ Teachers of the Year are among the most celebrated educators in the district, highlighted for their use of “instructional and academic strategies,” according to the Cobb schools district.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.