Clayton schools boast Georgia Scholars

The Georgia Department of Education is recognizing 151 graduating seniors from schools across the state as 2016 Georgia Scholars.

These are well-rounded high school seniors who have achieved excellence in their academics, and in school and community involvement. The program is coordinated by the Department’s Excellence Recognition Office and through local coordinators in each public school system and in private schools throughout the state. Each Georgia Scholar receives a seal for his or her diploma.

“I offer my sincere congratulations to each of our 2016 Georgia Scholars,” State School Superintendent Richard Woods. “These students have worked extremely hard and have engaged with all aspects of the educational process, with the result that they are truly ready to learn, ready to live, and ready to lead. They have exemplary academic performance but they’ve also gained soft skills by taking on leadership roles within their schools and communities. I am confident we will hear great things about their accomplishments in the near future.”

Clayton County Schools’ four scholars this year are:

Morrow High Jimmy Nguyen from Morrow High School, Simon Obi from Jonesboro High School, Joshua Ojo-Osagie from Lovejoy High School and Rashidatu Olorunsola from Mundy’s Mill High School.

Support real journalism. Support local journalism. Subscribe to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution today. See offers.

Your subscription to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution funds in-depth reporting and investigations that keep you informed. Thank you for supporting real journalism.