APS hires 10 new principals

The Atlanta Public Schools board approved the hiring of 10 new principals Monday evening.

The principals will take leadership of their schools starting July 1.

The new principals are:

  • Gideons Elementary - Jesse Berger
  • North Atlanta High - Curtis Douglass
  • Mays High - Richard Fowler
  • Grady High - Timothy Guiney
  • Sutton Middle - Woodbridge Greene, Jr.
  • Carver School of Health Sciences and Research - Marcus Jackson
  • Carver School of Technology - Josie Love
  • Therrell School of Health Sciences and Research - Shelly Powell
  • Crim High - Tyree Simmons
  • Brandon Elementary - Kara Stimpson

The board also accepted the resignation of Deerwood Academy Principal Noletha High and the retirements of Deputy Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction Karen Waldon and Crim Open Campus Principal Saundra Windom.