Gov. Kemp orders 6 Ga. counties to evacuate as Hurricane Dorian approaches

Gov. Brian Kemp has ordered residents in six Georgia counties to evacuate beginning Monday at noon as Hurricane Dorian approaches the southern United States coast.

"Starting noon tomorrow, individuals east of I-95 in Bryan, Camden, Chatham, Glynn, Liberty and McIntosh Counties must evacuate due to Hurricane Dorian," Kemp tweeted Sunday.

He added that all Interstate 16 lanes will run west beginning Tuesday at 8 a.m.

Sunday, the hurricane was classified as a Category 5, with maximum sustained winds of 185 mph. The storm pummeled parts of the Bahamas on Sunday as it made its way closer to the U.S.

The latest trajectory shows the hurricane could hug the East Coast, possibly making landfall in the Carolinas by midweek, according to Channel 2 Action News meteorologist Katie Walls.

- Please return to for more updates on this developing story.

» MONDAY UPDATE: Savannah residents not rushing to evacute

» LOOKING AHEAD: Forecast for Dorian

» ON THE COAST:  Colleges announce closures

» TRAVEL: Delta cancels flights

» Map of Georgia Hurricane Evacuation Zones