Democrats object, but can't stop official declaration of Trump victory

Credit: Jamie Dupree

Credit: Jamie Dupree

Interrupting the final tabulation of Electoral Votes in the 2016 race for President almost a dozen times, Democrats tried in vain to derail the election of President-Elect Donald Trump on Friday, but found themselves repeatedly gaveled down by Vice President Biden, who firmly proclaimed in a Joint Session of Congress, "It is over."

Eleven different times, House Democrats stood to object to the counting of a state's Electoral Votes, but none of them were joined by any Senator - which is a required under the rules for any delay.

Each time, the Vice President stopped them cold.

"Is there one United States Senator who will join me in this letter of objection?" pleaded Rep. Maxine Waters (D-CA).

The answer was - no.

Eight years ago on this date in 2005, one Democrat each from the House and Senate joined to force a two hour debate in each chamber on the votes from Ohio - this time, no Democratic Senator budged.

Republicans jeered more loudly each time a House Democrat got up to object, as Democrats tried to block the Electoral Votes from Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Michigan, North Carolina, South Carolina and Wisconsin.

Democrats like Rep. Lee complained about interference by Russia, voter suppression and more. But each time they rose to make their case, the Vice President gave them no room to make their argument.

"There is no debate," Mr. Biden said. "There is no debate," as he used the gavel to bring order.

Near the end of the ceremonial vote count, several demonstrators were hauled out of the galleries, as they joined the protest against a President Trump - but like at every step in the 2016 campaign, they were outnumbered.

Once the session was over, Republicans celebrated, and a beaming Speaker Paul Ryan gave the Vice President a hearty handshake.

Donald Trump will be sworn into office on January 20.

This was the final tally: