AJC file

How Atlanta's VA hospital compares

The Department of Veterans Affairs uses 21 measures to assess the quality of care at each of its 128 medical centers. The rating scale is divided into quintiles -- five groups, each comprising 20 percent of the facilities. On each measure, a given hospital falls into one of the quintiles, with the first quintile being the best and the fifth quintile being the worst.

The ratings, revised four times each year, are referred to by the acronym SAIL, short for Strategic Analytics for Improvement and Learning.

Comparing Atlanta's VA hospital to other area hospitals

Both VA hospitals and other hospitals are measured on certain patient outcome criteria by the Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services. Here is a look at how the Atlanta VA stacks up against other local hospitals on those six measures.

Averages were derived using data for all acute care hospitals in Fulton, DeKalb, Cobb, Gwinnett and Clayton counties.

Heart attack death rate

Heart failure death rate

Pneumonia death rate

Heart attack readmission rate

Heart failure readmission rate

Pneumonia readmission rate